top of page

Citizen by Maggie Ray


The cure had never been enforced. Until now. In the small city of Reye, Sabine LeRoux is one of the first people to receive the mandatory cure for mental illness. A fate she welcomes, in the hope the cure will somehow eradicate the unspoken curse that has plagued her all her life: everyone she cares about leaves, one way or another. It isn't until after her curing that Sabine begins to wonder if there isn't something else going on.


First, she wakes up to learn that she's been inexplicably unconscious for weeks following the procedure. Second, her best friend Rory has mysteriously gone missing since the curings began, and no one seems to be looking for her. No one seems to care. And third, a precautionary examination at the curing clinic confirms Sabine's worst fears: the cure has not worked for her, and Sabine is warned to keep this a secret at all costs. Or else. Except Rory is still missing, and Sabine isn't about to just let that go.


TW: depression, mental illness, some mention of suicide


REVIEW: Thank you to the author for gifting me an copy of this book to read and review. I found this author on TikTok @maggierays and when I heard about this book I knew I wanted to read it. With the exception of The Hunger Games and Handmaid's Tale, I'm not typically a big dystopian reader. The fact that this dystopian society was centered around mental illness made the whole idea new and very interesting. I devoured this book! The characters are intriguing, the pace was perfect for the length of book, and this idea of everyine being cured of mental illness is really something that will make you think. Our main character Sabine, while soft spoken, is one of the strongest characters I've read. She been through so much, lost so much, and still has the strength to keep going and to never stop asking questions no matter how dangerous it may be. This was a solid 4 star read for and I will not only be purchasing a physical copyto have on my shelf, but I will also be counting down the days until Season 2!!!






bottom of page