top of page

Thick as Thieves by Julie Olivia


Some people have a voice for radio, but I must have a fanny for infidelity. This is why I bought a one-way ticket from London to New York and decided to ignore all men forever. And then I meet Owen.


Owen holds all the red flags I can’t resist: mysterious and handsome, sarcastic with a clever smile… Plus, he works in tech like I do? Here’s my knickers, good sir.


But, a few cybersecurity breaches at my job means I don’t have time for anything, especially not a classic New York City romance. The bad part is I think the break-ins are coming from the same source. The worst part is that Owen is quickly stealing my heart.


The more time I spend with mysterious, handsome Owen, the more I wonder if maybe he’s the man I’ve been looking for all along. And unfortunately for me, I think that statement might be true in more ways than one.


REVIEW: September has been such a good month for books so far. There was bound to be one that I didn't like, and here it is. The two main characters, Fran and Owen, are great. There is some wonderful quick witted banter between the two. However, neither character is very developed. We get a little bit of back story from the two but we mostly know that Fran is a negative nelly, so to speak, when it comes to relationships. It makes her completely discount Owen at every turn, until she can't anymore....and that's where this book takes a turn. It started out as a light and airy rom-com which I loved. Then we took a sharp turn into steamy territory, which was a bit of a shock. It's not that I don't read the occasional steamy romance novel, but it seems to have come out of left field for this one and for me it just didn't fit. Then the last few chapters read like a spy novel of some sort. I don't know, it was a pretty cute book for the most part, it just seemed to be in too many lanes all at once. I'd give it a two out of five, but I would still recommend as a quick, modern, steamy read if that's what you were looking for.


Publication date: September 17, 2020




bottom of page