top of page

A Touch of Darkness by Scarlett St. Clair


Persephone is the Goddess of Spring by title only. The truth is, since she was a little girl, flowers have shriveled at her touch. After moving to New Athens, she hopes to lead an unassuming life disguised as a mortal journalist.


Hades, God of the Dead, has built a gambling empire in the mortal world and his favorite bets are rumored to be impossible.


After a chance encounter with Hades, Persephone finds herself in a contract with the God of the Dead and the terms are impossible: Persephone must create life in the Underworld or lose her freedom forever.


The bet does more than expose Persephone's failure as a goddess, however. As she struggles to sow the seeds of her freedom, love for the God of the Dead grows - and it's forbidden.


REVIEW: I have been a fan of mythology for a very long time and my favorite story has always been the story of Hades and Persephone. (It's also why pomegranates are my favorite fruit!). So when my TikTok friend @wcaissie95 gifted me this book I couldn't wait to read it and it immediately went to the top of my massive TBR pile. So first ad formats I love that this takes place in the mortal realm and in the present day. I love that all the Gods and Goddesses are business moguls, I like that is VERY relevant. I love the twist that Persephone, the Goddess of Spring, does NOT have a green thumb. While Persephone is typically insecure and shy, the moments where she remembers she's Divine are some of my favorites. The descriptions and beauty of the Underworld are incredible. Persephone's compassion and kindness mixed with Hades' hard exterior make for the perfect storm in this very steamy novel. This was a 5 star read for me and I already ordered book 2 because I can't get enough!!


Publication Date: April 2020





bottom of page