top of page

Gods & Monsters by Shelby Mahurin


The spellbinding conclusion to the New York Times and IndieBound bestselling trilogy Serpent & Dove. This stunning fantasy take on French witches and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas.


Evil always seeks a foothold. We must not give it one.


After a heartbreaking loss, Lou, Reid, Beau, and Coco are bent on vengeance more than ever before—and none more so than Lou.


But this is no longer the Lou they thought they knew. No longer the Lou that captured a chasseur’s heart. A darkness has settled over her, and this time it will take more than love to drive it out


REVIEW: I was really looking forward to the conclusion of one of my favorite series with Gods & Monsters. I wish I would have re-read the other two in anticipation of the last one because I had forgotten a few things since I read Blood & Honey. I really enjoyed Beau and Coco this time around. They were both assertive in a way that they haven't been in the previous books. Some of the best lines throughout the book came from Beau. I like how his character has grown. He definitely wins the award for most improved. I also really loved that the theme running throughout the story is that hope is the cure. I thought that was really beautiful. My favorite parts of the whole book were the moments where we got to see Ansel again. Those moments were really beautiful and really the only moments that made me really tear up and feel that raw emotion. Now to my problems with this book. And please remember these are only opinions. I did not like Lou OR Reid in this book. And to me that's the heart and sole of the story. Even when they were having there problems they were just boring to me. I didn't enjoy either one of them until the Epilogue to be perfectly honest. I thought even the moments when they were really and truly fighting for the other, there just wasn't much there. I also felt like everything and the kitchen sink was thrown into this book to the extreme that the final battle was just a few pages. Overall this book was just a 3 out of 5 for me but I still really enjoyed the series as a whole and am satisfied with how everything was wrapped up.


Publication Date: July 27, 2021







bottom of page