top of page

Superpowered by Renee Jain & Dr. Shefali Tsabary


The perfect tool for children facing new social and emotional challenges in an increasingly disconnected world! This how-to book from two psychology experts--packed with fun graphics and quizzes--will help kids transform stress, worry, and anxiety. Give it to fans of The Confidence Code for Girls and Raina Telgemeier's Guts.


Now more than ever, kids need to feel empowered as they work through anxiety, overwhelm, and uncertainty brought on by the world around them. With its helpful, hands-on suggestions and tips, SUPERPOWERED will be embraced by every kid with insecurities, worries, and anxious thoughts.


Renee Jain (founder of GoZen!) and Dr. Shefali Tsabary (New York Times bestelling author and Oprah contributor) make readers the superheroes of their own stories. They introduce a toolkit of easy-to-understand methods for recognizing anxious behaviors, identifying the root causes of worried thinking, and realizing that strength can be found in reclaiming one's inner superpowers.


With the help of humorous artwork and interactive elements, readers find their P.O.W.E.R. (an acronym that inspires mindfulness and resilience practices) and gain lasting mental strength.


REVIEW: This book is hands down the BEST book for teens and pre-teens who suffer from anxiety. It's engaging and written in a way that is understandable and even though it is dealing with a difficult subject matter, Jain & Tsabary still find a way to put a positive spin.

Thanks to Hear Our Voices Book Tours and Random House I was given an e-ARC to review and share my 15 thoughts while reading and give my overall #ownvoices reflection as someone who suffers from anxiety.


15 THOUGHTS WHILE READING SUPER POWERED!!


#1 - The truth is important

Especially in the climate we now live in, things to worry about are around every corner. We as parents, educators, librarians, counselors, etc., need to make sure that we tell kids it's okay to be worried. It's okay to feel anxiety.


#2 - What-iffng has controlled my life!

I am a CONSTANT what-iffer. I have been since as long as I can remember. Every little decision can spiral into a what-if tornado if I'm not careful.


#3 - I realize I shouldn't push so hard.

I have a 12 year old daughter who suffers from anxiety and I think sometimes I push her too hard when it comes to grades and studying and other things that I know can cause her undue stress. After reading this I am going to try my best to be more aware of this and not do it!


#4 - I wish someone would have discussed anxiety with me!

I have suffered from anxiety from a very young age. I started having severe night terrors stemming from anxiety around age 5 and they have continued on since then. I get anxiety when it comes to my children, my job, my school work....and some days it's tough to handle. Maybe if this is something that I could have started dealing with earlier in life, it wouldn't be such a speed bump in my life on a daily basis.


#5 - Worry can be a good thing.

Even though worry shouldn't run our entire lives, it is a part of self preservation. So instead of trying to get rid of it all together, learning how to "harness it for good", so to speak, is important.


#6 - I have a new perspective on perfectionism!

I never looked at it in the light of it causing me to avoid things. When I read that and thought back I couldn't believe how true that was! There are so many things I avoided and sometimes still avoid because of that perfectionist mind set that rears it's ugly head!


#7 - Self care is so important!

This is something the past year that I have tried to make sure I put into place in my life. I make sure that I have time to read uninterrupted and try to sneak in some yoga at a fairly regular basis, but it also made me realize how important it is to share this mind set with my children now so they can carry this on through there whole lives.


#8 - I love the overall positive theme of this book!

Anxiety and worry can be a tough topic to cover. Sometimes it can make people feel like they are being shamed for their actions or how others might feel when they withdrawal or avoid. But this book painted the entire process in such a positive light.


#9 - Interactive books are the bomb! <----------- totally shows my age...LOL!

There are so many places to write things down, maybe color if you wanted to, in this book! It makes it so fun and again keeps it engaging too!


#10 - The itty-bitty goals are still important!

The emphasis on the stepping stones of the itty-bitty goals is so important. I've always been a big-picture kind of person and it took me a really long time to realize that the little goals are just as important as the final goal.


#11 - Happiness is not everything. (unpopular opinion, I know)

Being happy means so many different things to different people. I think if we are constantly chasing happiness we can get confused about what we are searching for.


#12 - VERY easy to understand.

I love that everything about this book is easy to understand. With the anecdotal stories on every chapter it makes everything so relatable. The advice is all very clear as well. It so tween/ teen friendly, who wouldn't want to re-activate their super powers!


#13 - I love the all inclusive illustrations!

The illustrations are incredible. All shapes and sizes are including and that made me so happy!


#14 - Acronyms.....I mean come on!

My children will tell you that besides rhyming,......a lot......, I love a good acronym! What a great way to make the advice accessible and easy to remember!


#15 - I can't WAIT to share this book with my daughter!

Being a 7th grader can be tough. Being a 7th grader with diagnosed anxiety is even tougher. I can't wait to sit down and share this book with her and share all the tips, tricks, and tools that are included in this book.


My #ownvoices reflection is very simple. Anxiety is a part of my life that I have to deal with on a daily basis. There are days when it is debilitating and there are days when it is manageable. Maybe if I would have had the tools earlier in life, I would have less of the really tough days. I wish that someone would have written this book and talked to me about what it means to live with anxiety 20 years ago but no one did. I think this books is a must have for teachers, libraries, and any parents who suspects their child might have anxiety or just to make their child more aware.



bottom of page